Catch And Release!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,246 posts
  • LocationMississauga, Ontario
  • My PB:Between 4-5 lbs
  • Favorite Bass:Largemouth

Posted May 04 2013 - 01:39 PM

I recently sanded down the hump on an Avid and all the filler fell out. It looks and feel terrible. I did some research and it seems that people are recommending Elmer's Wood Filler, but I've never done this before and would like some help in case I mess up my handle. I would like to get it back close to factory if possible.

What colour should I purchase?

Will the filler make my handle feel different than say the bottom end I left untouched?

Is it okay not to apply a cork sealer? Will it fall out when wet or when I clean my handle with Mr. Clean Magic Eraser?

Any other ways to fill the voids that's better than the Elmer's?

#2 Maico1

Maico1

JDM SNOB

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 821 posts
  • LocationEast Greenbush, New York
  • My PB:Between 7-8 lbs
  • Favorite Bass:Largemouth & Smallmouth
  • Favorite Lake or River:Lake Abanakee

Posted May 04 2013 - 01:58 PM

Not sure what you mean by the hump........You could also get some cork rings and do the following. Sand off enough cork to mix with epoxy to fill the void and then sand it down until smooth and to the shape you want. I am assuming you have a hole or gouge etc.

#3 TrippyJai

TrippyJai

Catch And Release!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,246 posts

Posted May 04 2013 - 03:12 PM

I sanded down the power hump behind the reel seat and all the wood filler fell out. I want to fill those voids.

It looks like this.

005.JPG

Can you tell me what type/brand of epoxy? I actually don't know what that is.

What is the mix ratio between cork dust/epoxy?

#4 Crookedneck

Crookedneck

Practice CPR! Catch, Photo, Release!!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts
  • LocationPeshtigo, WI
  • My PB:Between 6-7 lbs
  • Favorite Bass:Smallmouth
  • Favorite Lake or River:The Menominee

Posted May 04 2013 - 04:44 PM