bass fishing

fishing

fishing
fish for bass

fishing tips

fish

Photo

Rod Casting Problems

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
24 replies to this topic

#1 Lady Fisherman

Lady Fisherman

Fry

• Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted September 30 2011 - 12:27 PM

Hi there. I've had some problems lately with my rods. When I try to cast them the lure/bait simply spins around and no line comes out. This problem has went on for a while. I'm just using a basic closed reel. I've only been fishing for about 2 months and I'm mostly self taught. I have only one friend that fishes and he told me it was because I'm low on line. However, I asked a random fisherman I saw out at the creek about it the other day and he told me I had enough line and the problem was the oil in the gears was in the wrong spot and I just need to dip it in the water. Dipping it in the water DOES work but I have to do this every 15-30 minutes or so which is obviously not very practical. I told this to my friend and my friend said the guy (who told me he had been fishing for 20 years) was wrong and "the gears are never the problem. You're just low on line."

I'm looking for a more solid answer. Should I replace the line or no? If it is the gears, is there a way to fix this without dipping the pole in the water every 15-30 minutes? Perhaps taking the bottom off and spraying the gears with a spray bottle full of water? Or using some sort of oil?

I know a lot for only fishing for 2 months because I do a lot of research on the internet but I just can't seem to find a good answer on this. If you need any more information just let me know. Thanks!

#2 LuckyHandsINC.

LuckyHandsINC.

Short Fish

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 352 posts

Posted September 30 2011 - 12:42 PM

When you say basic closed reel do you mean a push button spincast reel?

#3 islandbass

islandbass

Tsunekichi!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,188 posts

Posted September 30 2011 - 01:08 PM