Jeffrey

Fish finders how many, size and where

Hello All

I currently have the opportunity to revamp my deep finders on my boat. I will be buying three units (12", 12",12" or 12", 12", 16"). I need help on which one to put and where. I would like to know the opinions of people who have fished a lot more than me because I'm a newbie to boat fishing.

your going with those units as a newbie? are you going to fish tournaments? I'm happy with two 9" touch units. I wouldn't get over your head until you learn how to use them. your talking a lot of money. 

• Thanks 1

Money no object, 2x12 at the console, and the 15 up front.  You can have imaging or side scan on one at the helm, and the gps on the other.  Up front, you can use DI or chirp, or split screen with GPS, and still be able to see everything.  There is no difference between a 5, 7, 9, 12, or 15 SI/DI GPS units, just the screen size. Get as big as you can afford.  Get educated on mapping software, and networking the devices.  Of the latest I've gotten to use on the water, The Solix is about as nice as they come.  I used a a Solix 12 SI/DI GPS with the Lakemaster chip.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Garmin has a 22 inch unit. I say 2 at the console and 1 at the bow should suffice. Talk to the salesman about a discount. I can't see paying full retail ($9,999 each) if buying multiple units. 😉

• Haha 1

They actually have a 24" unit for $12K.  These are for serious vessels, though.

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I have a 10 on the bow and a 5 and 7 on the console. I run the 5 as GPS and the 7 as fish finder.

• Thanks 1

I run a 12" at the console and a 9" up front. And I never use either of them except for GPS purposes! 

• Thanks 1