StrikePrince

Thoughts on this boat? First boat 14 foot aluma craft jon

https://seattle.craigslist.org/oly/boa/d/14-ft-2007-crapple-jon/6528392452.html

Hi all. Will be checking out this boat in the next few days. Is this a good deal? What types of things should I make sure to check when inspecting? I'm a total boat newb and wanting to make sure I don't miss anything vital. Any advice is helpful; even the most basic advice will probably not be above my head. Thanks. 

I'm not sure whether to go with something used like that or go with a basic newer package like a tracker grizzly 16' jon. That would be more pricey but I do like the idea of a bigger more stable, standeable boat that would be nore roomy for multiple people. not having to worry about the potential headaches that a used purchase can bring is appealing too.

Any advice regarding new vs used? The price of the boat listed above isn't that amazing to make it an easy choice over new. Thanks all. 

I've always bought used.  The good thing about these smaller simple setup aluminum boats is there is less to go wrong(if your worried about headaches of buying used), as opposed to larger fancier boats where you have to worry about all the electronics,wiring, pumps, hull damage/rot as well as mechanical. 

Take it for test drive, check for leaks, make sure engine starts/runs good, test the Trolling motor, pull the motor cover and make sure it looks decent under there(no corrosion, rust, etc), check the engine oil.  You an usually tell if the owner did proper maintenance.

As far as size, you can fish two out of that boat without any real issue.  Any more than that is going to start getting cramped.  The difference between that grizzly and this boat would be night in day, that extra 2' makes a big difference, and the Tracker you mentioned is going to be wider as well.