rboat

H2O baits

I was looking at academy's baits and they look pretty good for the price. Can anyone suggest any that have worked well for you?

The hard baits are great. I haven't used any of the spinnerbaits, frogs or jigs but the crankbaits are really good for the money. I've had good luck with the various sized square bills, mid depth divers, lipless baits, poppers and walking baits. I haven't used any of the deep divers. The paint jobs are good and the baits I've used run true. I do change out the hooks though.

I bought about 10 because I’m a high school student and I am really impressed with the quality for $2 baits.

Does anybody know what all of the letters mean on their crankbaits?

I have used their cranks for the first time last year and did well...

I have several friends that use H2O exclusively & 4 are successful tournament anglers.

• Like 1

Their cranks are great! 

2 hours ago, HeyCoach said:

Yes.

I've bought a lot of their hard baits, and the only problem I've ever had was with the Shad 03 color flaking off. Other than that color, I recommend anything.

1 hour ago, HeyCoach said:

Excellent question. I love a good puzzle. They're all pretty obvious until they combine them:

S- SMALL PROFILE OR SHALLOW RUNNING
CR- CRANKBAIT
L- LIPLESS
M- MEDIUM RUNNING
TW- TOPWATER
P- POPPER
NR- NO RATTLE
D- DEEP DIVER
UL- ULTRALIGHT
W- WAKEBAIT

But I can’t figure out these two:

NCRD - A deep crankbait, but I don’t know what the N stands for.
SCSFW - This is a small wake bait, so that explains one S and the W, but I don’t know about the rest.

It’s always bugged me why they have two different prices for lipless crankbaits. I can’t tell what the difference is. One has the LCR designation and the other is called “Rattlin' T”, but they both have rattles.