PABassFish007

24v trolling motor wiring

Hi, 

Im not good at electrical work and am looking for insight on how to hook the 24 volt trolling motor up to 2 batteries. This is for a jon boat. 

Is it positive and negetive wire from each battery then to motor or poisitive to positive and neg to neg. 

What gauge wire do i use?

Thanks. 

24v_wiring.png

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1

14 minutes ago, PABassFish007 said:

Thanks!

Is a 4 gauge wire good enough for the connection between 2 batteries?

4 gauge will handle up to 95 amps of current...most trolling motors draw much less.

https://www.minnkotamotors.com/support/compatibility/battery-selection-and-rigging

will help you select cable and circuit breaker size for MinnKotas - other manufacturers will have similar information.

I would use a standard off the shelf 2 gage short battery cable with crimped on terminal lugs to go between the + to - battery terminals to prevent resistance from over heating the terminal connections.

6 gage marine stranded tin plated wire red (+) and black (-) for the TM 24V connections. The 40 to 50 amp marine circuit breaker in the schematic is critical, don't over look it. With DC current wire size size can create resistance that drops the voltage, 1 size larger then needed is a fudge factor and doesn't cause any issues.

Tom

If you connect two 12 VDC batteries in parallel (plus to plus, neg to neg) simply put you'll still have 12 VDC, but twice the current capacity (run time).

If you want to create 24 VDC from two 12 VDC batteries, connect battery A's plus to battery B's minus. Then connect battery's A minus to trolling motor minus, and battery B's plus to trolling motor's plus.

BUT don't forget fuses and/or breakers. You'll want an inline fuse of appropriate rating as close to the battery bank as possible (one near battery A's minus terminal, one near battery B's plus terminal). You may also want an line breaker switch near battery B's plus terminal.