Sign in to follow this  
David P

Best spinning reel under $60

Looking for a less expensive combo, beating the bank with my GLX / Curado isn't the best on it so I'm looking for something to take out when I'm walking along the bank.

Pflueger President / Shimano Sahara / Shimano Sedona / What else?

??

Brokejew,

Zebco 33... :o

Tight Lines!!!  

I'd buy the President but if I saw a brand new in box Sahara for $45 shipped, I'd probably buy it.

Wow! What a coincidence this is......I just saw one in the flea market for $45 shipped! What a deal!  :o

http://www.bassresource.com/bass_fishing_forums/YaBB.pl?num=1190425221

Guest muddy

My Favorite reel is the PFLUEGER PRESIDENT at 60 bucks. I have a lot of experience using one, without any issues and they take a beating and continue to work. Some say the graphite frame is an issue, i beleive this is an overstated claim as I could not tourqe this reel and I have never had a gear alignment problem THATS AFTER HOUR UPON HOUR OF USE> ;D

I have a Shimano Stradic the RW gave me, it too is an excellent reel. I like the retrieve action on my Pflueger, because i can't explain it but the actions of both reels are somewhat different, and i am just used to the Pfleuger. The Stadic was worked on bu Reel Mech, I do not know if thats how they come from the factory or Dave just brought it too a new level, but this reel is also flawless. This reel seels for over a hundred, but since Shimano is redoing their reels you may find one deeply discounted in the near future into you price range.

In my mind the reels are equal in performance, my experience and preference is with the President.

Haha FBL , I saw that, but I'm leaning towards the president.

Muddy: I knew I could count on you for a pflueger vote!

I have a stradic , but I'm getting two spinning reels and want two of the same reel more or less, so $60 a piece is all I wanted to spend.