Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Richard72

Fishing Licence

Recommended Posts

I stumbled across this article about fishing licences that I thought

would be of some interest because without one, you'll be looking at a fine. First rule in fishing - get a licence!

To be able to fish, a person needs to get a fishing

license since this is requirement by law and the regulations

regarding fishing varies from one state to the other.

In some states, 2 licenses are needed. One is called the

Conservation license which is a prerequisite before one

can obtain a fishing license.

Getting a license to fish is quite different from the time

a person needed to get a drivers license. The person does

not have to take an exam or get a student's permit before being issued one.

The Conservation license can be obtained from the Fish,

Wildlife & Parks or FWP. This is done by giving one's social

security number and other information that is requested.

A valid driver's license or any valid ID with photo must

also be presented for security purposes for the license to be processed.

The fishing license allows a person to fish or possess any aquatic

creature as long as it is authorized by the state's fishing regulations.

This license is neither non-transferable nor non-refundable and is

only valid for one year or season.

Since fishing licenses as mentioned earlier vary from state to state,

a fishing license can either be a resident license or a non-resident

license. For one to qualify for a resident license, that person must

have resided in that certain location for a period of time such as

6 months, should be a local tax payer , must be a registered voter,

purchased a vehicle and have a valid driver's issued from that state.

In addition, one must not possess or apply for any resident hunting,

fishing or trapping privileges in another state or country.

A non-resident can fish in another state as long as the person is

accompanied by someone who resides in that state.

There is no age limit for anyone to acquire a fishing license.

People both young and old can obtain it. Usually a person who is

below 11 years of age can get a fishing license for free.

People who are older than that have to pay a certain fee to acquire it.

With the paper work in proper order, one can just grab the proper gear, a boat and start having some fun being close with nature.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
There is no age limit for anyone to acquire a fishing license.

People both young and old can obtain it. Usually a person who is

below 11 years of age can get a fishing license for free.

People who are older than that have to pay a certain fee to acquire it.

In New York, people under age 16 don't need a license at all. Senior citizens pay a reduced rate.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11?

16 is the magic number in most states. As far as non-residents being

required to fish with a resident...Who wrote this article anyhow?

p.s.

Richard72,

After reviewing your post history and "expert advice", I think

you better take mine: Before any further posts or questions,

spend some time in the BassResiource.com Library.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

In Florida there are both freshwater and saltwater licenses available (combo can be purchased).  Residents that are seniors, over 65 minors and military are exempt.  In freshwater all need to be licensed except exempt.  In saltwater a resident is not required to have a license if they are fishing from shore, bridge, pier or a jetty, however fishing from a private boat does require a saltwater license, minors, seniors and military exempt.  Charter boats have a blanket license covering everyone.

All non residents are required to have a license.

Florida being a non income tax state, the FWC has limited resources availble so I support buying a license if you need one or not.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All I know is the annual fishing license in California gets more expensive every year.  It's close to $50 for a fishing license and a sticker to fish in the river I fish.  But you know what?  It's worth every penny!  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To clarify Florida:

Minors up to the age of 16 are exempt.

Resident Military stationed in other than Florida but home on leave with orders to that effect in hand are exempt.

Non-resident Military stationed in Florida are considered residents and are not exempt.

Saltwater from shore, or shore attachments are exempt but don't step into the water.

A holder of a 6-pak license fishing saltwater may have a license for up to 6 people fishing. This is not available on freshwater.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • fishing

    fishing forum

    fishing rods

    fishing reels

    fishing

    bass fish

    fish for bass
    fish

×