Sign in to follow this  
john81

Setup Advice

I just ordered a daiwa z200 with an *** black 7'1" med hvy rod

Im new to bass fishing, what would you use this setup for? What would this combo excel at.

The Zis a heavy reel, I think if you would have grabbed like a 7'6" up to 8' heavy power then you'd have a massive flipping stick and a great swim bait set up. What you have now would be good for jigs, worms, spinnerbaits and basically any single hook presentation there is, I just would have gone in a different direction with the reel choice. The reel is great but it is big and heavy and after using reels from 7.5oz down to 6.2oz exclusively for the last few years it would make that unusable to me but since you are new to bass fishing you might not worry about it. If it were possible I'd cancel that reel and get something like a Zillion, it is no light weight but much better suited to bass fishing techniques with a med-hvy rod than the Z is.

The Zis a heavy reel, I think if you would have grabbed like a 7'6" up to 8' heavy power then you'd have a massive flipping stick and a great swim bait set up. What you have now would be good for jigs, worms, spinnerbaits and basically any single hook presentation there is, I just would have gone in a different direction with the reel choice. The reel is great but it is big and heavy and after using reels from 7.5oz down to 6.2oz exclusively for the last few years it would make that unusable to me but since you are new to bass fishing you might not worry about it. If it were possible I'd cancel that reel and get something like a Zillion, it is no light weight but much better suited to bass fishing techniques with a med-hvy rod than the Z is.

i got the reel mostly for micro jigging in saltwater with vertical jigs. But was trying to do dual purpose for freshwater. i do have some 15-30 gloomis laying around would that rod work better?