Custom rod building

Landis76

Guest DavidGreen

alandis311,

I see you are in Lawrence, KS.

Don't know when your wedding is/was, but

this is an art form that can not be learned in a couple of days.

I have been building for 20 years, and I am always learning something new.

You will be doing yourself a great favor to arm yourself with some good background information.

The Rod-Building Guide by Tom Kirkman is 50 pages of information. I would add that Flex Coat's "How We Do It" video is an excellent way to become accustomed to the basic steps in building your own rod. These are the basic books and videos for the new rod builder. they are all available from a supplier in Overland Park...

Bingham Enterprises in Overland Park

http://www.angelfire.com/ks/bingham/

Availible from Bingham Ent.  

Rod-Building Guide by Tom Kirkman (Book)

http://www.angelfire.com/ks/bingham/books.html

Flex Coat Step by Step Rod Building (Book)

If you have time you can also read some good instruction at the following site..

Mudhole Rod Building 101

http://shop.mudhole.com/s.nl/c.210436/sc.15/.f

The ultimate web site forum for rod builders is

RodBuilding.org

http://www.rodbuilding.org/list.php?2

Hope this helps some.....    :)

I agree with Reel Mechanic.  I've been wraping my own rods for 30 years, a couple every winter when there's that awful snow on the ground.  Every year I have to pull out the books and re-educate myself.  It's fun and very rewarding, but it takes plenty of patients, skill, knowledge and the right equipment (rod wraping jig, etc.) to do a good job your proud of.  I also whole heartedly agree with RM that you need to read a lot before you get started.  I figure when I get finished with a rod I really haven't saved much money, but I like my custom designs and the rewarding fact I did it myself. Good luck and give it a try on a cheap rod for starters.

Guest DavidGreen

Fritz,