Sign in to follow this  
SHaugh

Guntersville Next Week

Planning on a trip to Guntersville next week.  This will be my first time there.   Looking for any advice about where to fish or how.  Planning on putting in at Honeycomb campground.

I'm not asking for your best spot...... but maybe your second best :wink7:  ?    Please assume that I'm a complete Noob...Which will not be far off..... especially on that lake....   Any advice would be much appreciated.

I just hit Guntersville today. I put in at Sunrise Marina, right next to Honeycomb campground.

The spawn appears to be over. Had a pretty good day with all the post-spawn feeding going on.

Hooked up on a few dragging a heavy football jig down the rip rap at the U.S. 431 bridge over honeycomb creek (up creek from the campground). Also caught a few on submerged grass lines in 6-10 foot of water.

If you are comfortable with a jig, I highly recommend hitting the rip rap directly around the bridge mentioned above especially if they are drawing water either up stream or down. Aside from that, a swim jig, swimbait, or narrow bodied creature bait works well in the grass lines. There's a decent article up on AL.com about pulling swim jigs through the grass. Link below.

Grasslines can be found all over the area. If you launch at honeycomb campground, head up creek to find some quickly. The north end of the bank is covered with them for miles. Look for a gradual drop off, run over the area in 4-10 foot of water, and your sonar should pick them up easily.

http://www.al.com/outdoors/index.ssf/2015/05/swim_jigs--post_spawn_magic.html#incart_river_mobile

Good luck!

I fished guntersville yesterday. I found all my fish in 7-12 ft of water in grass dragging a Carolina rig. Good Luck

I'm headed over there tomorrow for all day fishing. I plan on putting in at the Holiday Inn ramp and fishing some rip-rap along the causeway and some of the islands. We'll see what the warmer weather has done to'em.