Mikeltee

New Crankbait/Treble Hook Gear Selection

I am wondering which Dobyns Champion crank rod to get. For now i am a bank fisherman so 75% of the time it will be for Whopper Ploppers and jerk baits and 25% squarebills and lipless cranks. I wont need to get a deep diver until I get a boat so I wont need a heavy stick at this point in the game. What are the primary differences between the 705cb and 705cb glass aside from the build material. Which one has more sensitivity and which one is more suited for my 75 and 90 whopper ploppers? Im still new to jerkbait fishing so I would like the rod to be able to practice and perfect the technique.

Also all my reels are >8.x ratio. Should i go with a 5.x or a 6.x? I will need a new reel anyways. $150 max on my reel budget. I subscribe to the "get the fastest reel you can because you can always slow your retrieve down," but I don't think this applies to crankbaits. 

I am not stuck on a Dobyns but every rod that I use nowadays is a Dobyns so I am brand loyal, but if there's a better stick out there for <$250 that is perfect for my needs then please don't hesitate to recommend it.

I have a 704CB (Graphite) that I really like.  To me, it is the perfect 1.5 SB rod (and very good for wiggle warts).  However, once you get over 1/2oz, it gets quite whippy.  I tell you this only to reinforce what you've already suggested which is that the 705 would be the power you're looking for.   Wish I could offer some opinion on the graphite vs glass question.  One day i'll get a Champion glass rod to understand the differences.

I think a 7 speed for jerkbaits/SB/lipless is perfect.  Whopper ploppers I could see wanting a 6 speed, but even then I think you could make a 7 work.  So a ~7:1 reel would be my choice.