Sign in to follow this  
Ballpark Frank

I finally fell off the Abu Garcia wagon today.

Although my wife will kill me if she finds the new reels, the bait monkey is happy. I used my store credit from the Revo SX today, plus some cash :;). The Revos have been making my hands "cramp" alot lately due to their small size. I have tested several other low profile reels, with my favorites being the Diawa Exceler and the Quantum Accurist. Well I ended up with the Quantums, I bought 2 Accurist PT's, 2 Accurist CX(on serious sale $30 each) and an Accurist saltwater PT. All of the PTs have rebates available too, I'll get $30 back for each reel. These reels feel good to me and are a little bigger than other low profiles, more like my beloved Abu rounds but lighter. I put them all on rods and went out to the lake this afternoon for about 4 hours, caught several fish and no hand cramps.

Although I have been fishing for most of my life I'm not very good at Baitcasting methods. Why would your hand get cramped due to the size of a fishing reel? Some of you guy's talk about palming the reel and I don't understand that with a baitcaster either. That's a term we always used when fly fishing because we would palm the bottom of the reel for a better feel of the drag when playing a fish.

Sounds like you got some good deals with those reels! Congrats. Mike

Some of you guy's talk about palming the reel and I don't understand that with a baitcaster either. That's a term we always used when fly fishing because we would palm the bottom of the reel for a better feel of the drag when playing a fish.