Sign in to follow this  
NitroMan

Hard Fishing the Potomac River

I have been killing myself out on the Potomac River here recently. I have been reading these forums for several months now and I finally decided to get an account so I could ask a few questions. I normally fish out of Aquia Creek and I bought an annual pass for Hope Springs which I will have to agree with some other guys that say it is highway robbery!!! But $15.00 for one time is too so I figured it would be worth it. I work as a Deputy Sheriff and I work shift work where I have so much time off and I'm always thinking about fishing.  But when I go out fishing I have a very difficult time actually catching enough fish to where I would be comfortable to fish a tournament and feel as if I could win. I recently fished a tournament series out of leesylvania with LAPR and my fishing partner and I only brought 1 fish to the weigh-in. When I watched other guys bring their huge bags of bass up I was astounded!  I thought the fish just were not bitting that good that day. But apparently those other guys knew the tricks to get them. So I tried talking to some of the guys but they kinda looked at me as if I was stupid for asking. So I just left it alone and then this last weekend we fished another tournament out of Aquia Creek and I had one of my best days out on the water and yet I was only able to bring 2 decent keepers in the boat. We fished mainly the grass flats since the water temp was almost 65 degrees and we were slamming the smaller bass around 12-14 inch and as you know you can't weigh-in anything under 15" now. I just want someone to tell me what I need to do to step up my game. I really enjoy fishing and I thought I was really a good fisherman until i wasn't able to perform. I even thought about getting rid of the boat I just bought last year. But my fiance talked me out of it for now. So can someone please help me out. Like I said I have lots of time off and I spend the majority of my days out on