Sign in to follow this  
ReelLifeOnline

State Record Broken

This article was in my local news the other day. I am new to fishing and I was wondering what a "combination butterfish-squid bait" was. Anyone?

Posted by the Asbury Park Press on 10/12/07

Joseph Sanzone became the state's newest record-holder, when the Pompton Lakes resident's 18-pound, 7-ounce gray tilefish was confirmed as a state record late last week.

Sanzone was bottom fishing on Sept. 9 in Toms Canyon when he hooked into the gray tilefish, which hit a combination butterfish-squid bait.

The fish measured 35 inches long with a 24-inch girth. Sanzone had a St. Croix rod and a Penn reel with 65-pound test.

The gray tilefish is typically found in depths of 200-1,400 feet. Usually found south of Cape Hatteras, North Carolina, they live in burrows and sometimes congregate in small groups. The previous N.J. record for gray tilefish was set in 2001, for a 10-pound, 9-ounce fish caught at the Sea Girt Reef.

Guest btlva

Welcome to the forum!

A butterfish is a small, shiny ocean-run baitfish. Sounds like the guy put a piece of butterfish and a piece of squid on the same hook to catch that tilefish. There have been alot of tilefish records broken recently, makes me want to go try to catch one! Tight lines

Known as a "Cuttyhunk Chunk", you pack the tube of the squid with the Butterfish and sew the tube partially shut (works like a chum bag).  Another common way to combine them is to thread them down to the hook, butterfish first, and then slide down the squid so it looks like the squid is trying to eat or carry the butterfish.

Thanks! I guess that's logical, but I never thought of it before. I just watched one of your videos. It looks so different on a lake. I am used to the waves of the ocean and big commercial boats.

I grew up and still live on the Ocean (Rhode Island---But I hear you know this already,lol)

different world, same passion (fresh/salt)