Sign in to follow this  
SmokeKUA

Cape Girardeau

Hey guys and gals, my name is Brian and im kinda new to fishing. Just these past couple of weeks ive been getting really into it and would love to soak up any tips and techniques. I fish mostly small ponds, the missisippi river and couple bigger lakes. Im willing for a little drive for a good fishing hole too! I use alot of plastic worms (Gulp is my favorite!) some top-water and im tryin to get the hang of jiggin. Anyone know any good places in the southeast Missouri area off the beaten path for good fishin?

I am from Dexter MO. I fish at Otter Slough quite a bit and its a good place to fish, and Duck creek is also a good place to fish.

HAVE YOU BEEN TO LAKE GIRARDEAU LATELY I HERE ITS COMMING ON

Not sure how far you're willing to drive, so I'll work my way from in town to out of town. You didn't mention a boat, so I'll stick to places you can fish easily from shore.

If you're looking to kill time over your lunch hour, there's a little 1 acre or so pond in Kiwanis Park that has a good population of smallish bass.

Cape County Park North and South both have decent lakes, but they get a lot of fishing pressure. I've caught fish out of both, but I've caught bigger fish out of the South lake.

Drive a little ways to Trail of Tears State Park and you'll find a little 20 acre lake. It's pretty easy to fish from shore and has a good population of 12 inch bass, with some better fish mixed in. Fish soft plastics in the weeds in June and you'll have plenty of action.

One of the most unique places to fish is The Block Hole. You'll find it just north of NUT Junction. NUT Junction is where routes N, U, and T connect. Fish as close to the falls as you can get with small spinner baits for white bass, spotted bass, and crappie. It's pretty popular on weekends, but during the week, you can pretty much have it to yourself.