Sign in to follow this  
Low_Budget_Hooker

Swimbait reel features

What features do you look for in a swimbait reel.  Why the wide spool?  Longer casts?  come off the spool easier?

scenario- why would my calcutta 201 not be good enough on a 7' 6" H rod, to throw something like a BBZ-1?

I too was wondering the same thing.  Why isn't my cardiff 200a sufficient enough to throw swimbaits.  It could hold plenty of line probably 180-200 yds of braid (8lb dia.)  It's not like a bass is going to make a 100yd run.

As a swimbait newbie myself, I would say that the wide spool is necessary so you can have >100 yrds of 20+ lb test. For most applications Mono is perferrred and a Cardiff 200 will hold <80yds of line.

As for the reel you need to have something that will get the fish to the boat now so the fish wont throw the swimbait. Not to mention you have in some cases a 1/2lb swimbait on the other end.

A 7'6" rod would be too short IMO to throw a BBZ-1? And the BBZ-1 has a line recommendation of 25 lb mono which probably exceeds the amount of line that you would be comfortable fishing with on a Cardiff 200. Just my 2 cents.

I use an Abu Garcia left handed retrieve, can not remember the model # but is the one with SS bearings....  It was actually my salmon reel when I lived in the Pacific Northwest.....  Great cranking power and lots of line capacity.

Line capacity is a big deal, especially when you're using 25 and 30lb test...

I also retie pretty often, so the more line on there, the better.

scenario- why would my calcutta 201 not be good enough on a 7' 6" H rod, to throw something like a BBZ-1?

I use the Cardiff 201 and 301 for SB. I will not cast a 5 oz lure with less than 25 lbs line, so the 201 is out of picture.

For that size lure you need a SB rod capable of handling it and long enough to cast it far, something around 8 '.

i use a calcutta 251 ... i love this reel for swimbaiting .... i have it on a okuma 7ft6 heavy fast .... its sweet ...