Sign in to follow this  
OneBigMouth

Baitcaster - Too much rod flex = bad?

Lately I have been using a recent birthday gift from the lady in a St Croix Mojo Bass 6'6'' Medium Power with a BPS Pro Qual. I am noticing that it throws my LC LVR Minis way better than my Brush Hog/Senko/rubber bait and 1/4 Oz bullet weight combos. I am new to the baitcasting world and have only been using them for a little under a year now. I noticed that when I am throwing these heavier baits, the tip of the rod is flexing quite a bit. Matter of fact, it is flexing a little if I just hold the rod in the air with one of these baits on it. Am I experiencing some diminishing returns here in too much flex? I don't know how else to explain this really!

Also, I am about to be in the market for another rod as I just sold off one of my safe queen pistols. I feel that this rod is great for cranks and topwaters. What would be a weight range to look at for the heavier bait combos I mentioned above?

A medium power is fine for plastics with a 1/4 oz weight, typically... read the weight reighting on your rod, and it will tell you.  A softer rod (as long as it's appropriate)  will help casting distance significantly. 

As a general rule of thumb I like stiffer actions for plastics, jigs, and single hook slow presentations, and a more flexible rod for cranks, spinnerbaits, and topwaters. The exception to the rule is that I like a somewhat stiff rod for X - raps because it gives the lure a better action.

As a general rule of thumb I like stiffer actions for plastics, jigs, and single hook slow presentations, and a more flexible rod for cranks, spinnerbaits, and topwaters. The exception to the rule is that I like a somewhat stiff rod for X - raps because it gives the lure a better action.

Well put.

I just like a tougher rod action to really be able to set the hook in a "texas" situation  8-)