Sign in to follow this  
Stasher1

Anyone here play harmonica?

I've always loved the sound of a harmonica, but have never really played one. I'm interested in learning, but need advice on a decent starter harmonica.

The Hohner Special 20 in the key of C seems to be a popular choice, as does the Lee Oskar Major.

Opinions?

I see that Hohner also has a new-ish one out called the Blues Bender that is supposedly a lower-priced version of the Special 20, and it seems to be gaining popularity as well. The main complaint seems to be its country of origin (china), rather than its sound or durability...

ETA: Les Stroud (Survivorman) plays a Hohner Special 20, and he's a badass.  ;D

I started playing blues harmonica a while ago for a little bit. I was teaching myself and I basically stopped playing about a year ago. I have a Hohner Blues Harp in A, a Special 20 in D, a Less Oskar in C and A, and set of Hohner Piedmont Blues harmonicas in C, D, E, F, G, A, and B flat. FWIW, I prefer the Lee Oskars

The biggest thing is having a harmonica in the correct key for the music you are playing. It gets more complicated when you get into 1st vs. 2nd position. You have to match the harp to the music you want to play. I got a bunch of different keys because I wanted to play along with songs that are written in different keys. It's difficult to play to music in one key with a harp in another key.

Most people will say that a harp in C is the best place to start for a beginner. I don't know what music you're playing but a lot of blues seems to be written in A and C. Good luck with learning to bend. It's kinda tricky to get a hang of.

Thanks for the input guys. I'll leave this up for a little while longer to see if anyone else is willing to chime in, but it looks like I'll be adding a Hohner Special 20 to my next Amazon order...  ;)

When I started blowing a harp, Honer was the only game in town...I don't think Lee Oskar was born yet! ;D

Marine Band's were $7