Sign in to follow this  
indy basser

Formulating a Pattern?

Hey guys I am pretty new to bass fishing and 1 thing that amazes me is how in a post tourney interview a pro will say that they were hitting a blue tube in the second arm of coves off of willow laydowns or whatever.  When you guys go fishing how do you find and define your patterns? Too many times  when I go out I nver figure 'em out.  I was wondering how some of you "experinced guys" go about figuring them out?

Thanks guys, you are the best.  I have already learned so much about from this site. :)

Key:  Attention to detail.  

Waiting to anaylze what you did until after the catch.  Pay attention to the depth of water you were positioned in (if in a boat) and the depth you feel you caught the fish at.

Was water clear, muddy, or slightly stained?  Different parts of a body of water have more off colored water than others and sometimes that can make a huge difference combined with cloud cover and/or sun.

What type of bait were you throwing?  Did you throw it next to a laydown, rip rap, stickups, stumps, weeds, etc.

After that you put all that together as well as get a feel for the type of location you are at on the body of water (point, cove, bay, etc) and try to mimic that in another spot that looks very similar or has similar features.

Sometimes you can identify more than one pattern on a body of water and that's really when you can start to whack em'.  I do best at pattern fishing on rivers, not so much on lakes (still learning).  Some of the other guys will probably emphasize other important factors.  This is just my foundation I go on.