Sign in to follow this  
quant PT

Elite #'s

Why do a few elite pro's have numbers on their boats and in some of their marketing kind of like Nascar drivers ( ex. Timmy Horton #1, Denny Brauer #7)?  Is this a marketing idea that only certain pro's decided to use or is it related to a certain sponsor or is there some other reason for them?   IMO this is a good idea, and it would be nice if all elite pros had one.  Fans could have stickers with their favorite pro's # on their truck, car etc to show others who they pull for.  

I am new to following pro bass fishing so please forgive me if this is a stupid question.   My sons got me into it when they had the Classic here in February ( I live near lake Hartwell).  I enjoyed it so much that we went to the Pride of Georgia and had a great time.  

Its a rather good question. 3yrs ago or so when ESPN started up the Elite, the rule of mandatory wrapped boats included  you to pick a number (like Nascar) but some did and some didn't and couldn't get together on who got what so It just got dropped for the time being. It'll eventially happen and might be based on aoy standings or... that ones taken pick another and that why denny and tim and others, have it yet.

Thanks for the answer.  It really makes sense that ESPN/BASS would push this as part of a larger effort to market the anglers.  IMO the Elite series has some of the most personable and interesting personalities in sports.

Tim Horton is my favorite elite pro.  Hopefully whatever happens he would get to keep his #1 ( maybe for being president of PAA).  I wish I could get a sticker of it for my truck.  I met him at Pride of Georgia and got a picture of him with my son - really nice guy.  

That's a good idea !

But that would be interesting if the numbers were based on the previous-year AOY standings. (as it's been said)

That would make it easier for those who don't follow the sport to figure out who's who !