Sign in to follow this  
JUST_ONE_MORE_CAST

making sure they are largemouths.......

Hello,

I've been  fishing SERIOUSLY for only a few months now.......My wife and I were bored one day and I said,   "Let's go fishing" So off we went....well, at the time all I had was my baitcasting setup and an el-cheapo zebco33 combo for her. She was content on cork-and-worm fishing, while I decided I would try a crankbit I received as a gift a year or two ago. Well I caught a smallie on my second cast (a pound or 2) but I was hooked as bad as he was from then on.  Anyway my question. I have been fishing a different pond recently and catching what I think are young largemouths. The thing is the doun't have that distinct black on them like I'm used to seeing. Is this just because they are young or is it water color/quality? I just want to make sure they are LM's I know this sounds kinda dumb but I am really kinda new to being this successful at fishing.      :)

Thanks in advane and heres a pic of the fish in question.  (my wife caught that one only one of that day.)

ashleysbass.jpg

Ditto

That's a Larry! (largemouth)

I hope you don't mind me saying so but you're wife is a cutie!

the lack of the black pattern you speak of good be due to water quality as well as a combination of age. i've got some bass that are a light green on top and a very pale white on bottom with no dark color in b/t. this of course was out of a very stained muddy lake.  

It could be a spotted bass.  I too havebeen fishing and catching some bass and have confused myself into thinking all were largemouth, when infact some were spotted bass.  Here is some info I picked off the  internet for you.  BTW, ditto to what Alandis said, she is a cutie! She's a "keeper"! ;D ;D