Sign in to follow this  
fishinginiowa

Oxygen and PH levels should be the key to fishing?

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum, but not to bass fishing and I have fished in many areas of the country, but I'm still a relative novice and learn new things all the time...

I have read so much and talked to so many people, but two factors seem to stick in my mind as the keys to fishing for bass, or any other type of fish...

First is Oxygen and Second is PH... Without oxygen content in the water, fish will die, just as we would die withought oxygen... Fish also need to stay in a certain PH range to survive as well, but PH is a little more flexible than oxygen levels, at least it seems to be... Fish will move to where the oxygen and PH levels best support them... They will move to where they are most comfortable physically, while holding to available cover and food sources... True?

No matter where you plan to fish, if it does not have the proper DO (dissolved oxygen) & PH levels, fish will not be there and fishing time is wasted, so wouldn't it seem logical to take some DO & PH readings in the area you want to fish, to either rule it in or out for holding bass??

I have purchased a PH & DO meter and have found that, so far, it proves out and have been surprised at how the DO & PH levels fluctuate with the weather conditions... I have found that small shallow lakes in the summer, may only offer habitable water from 0 to 5 or 6 feet, which takes out a Lot of fishing time spent in looking for fish in deeper water, and so on and so forth...

How do you all feel about this?

First of all welcome to the site.

Second of all. SHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!  ;)

This is one of the best kept or most over looked secrets in fishing. What meter did you buy?

Guest ouachitabassangler