Sign in to follow this  
I'ma lunatic

New Pond, What to Stock?

I'm about to build about a 1.5 acre pond.  Basically just building a dam in a very steep hollow with lots of runoff.

I want this one to be most bass.  What's the best thing to stock?  70% bass, 30% brem, or what?  I'm new to stocking.  Thanks.

If you put 70% Bass and 30% Brem, those Brem arent gonna have a chance.

I read somewhere that you should stock bream the first year, and wait a year or two before you stock bass.  This helps the bream population grow without many problems then the bass have a variety of different sized bream when they are stocked into the pond.  

I'm about to build about a 1.5 acre pond.  Basically just building a dam in a very steep hollow with lots of runoff.

I want this one to be most bass.  What's the best thing to stock?  70% bass, 30% brem, or what?  I'm new to stocking.  Thanks.

There are like 6 "about to be" broken laws in this statement,lol.

Step back, take a breath and contact local DNR, they'll let you know where to start.  Once you've cleared the permits, stocking licenses,etc.

Then contact "Pond Boss" as suggested above.

PS- Hope you're rich, stock and feed are not cheap ;)

Thanks Guys,

I wasn't going to do that. I was basically just throwing something out as an example. Since there were no suggestions, I suppose no one knows a good mixture of stocking fish :(

You didn't check with one of our sponsors "Pond Boss" like I suggested yesterday ?

Hmm, guess I missed that.  Oh, something on the welcome thread?  I'll go check, thanks.

Which fish and how many is just one small part of the equation.   It's all about food source.

Get legal and then approach the pro's.  (The few guys I know won't talk to you if they know you aren't going about it properly)   How much $$ do you have to start with is going to be their first question.

Just a few things.

What are your goals with this pond?

Do you want a trophy bass pond or a trophy bluegill pond or something else?