Sign in to follow this  
triwbass

swapping trebles on cranks + size

ok lets say i want to swap trebles on a strike king series 5 crankbait what size do i buy,,,,also do yall replace hook and splitring or just hook,,, and what is best way to do this without catching myself,,,,

I am relatively new to doing this, I mainly switched out trebels on Jitterbugs, bbut I would guess the procedure is much the same

First off you want to get a Split Ring Pliers that open up the split rings, I am feeling you there !

Then I never unscrew the hook hangers, I cut off the old hooks with a good pair of cutters.

I replace with same size or go up one and put the new trebles onto a split ring and onto the lure. This is what I do and I am sure many more will give you suggestions we both can use

The only cranks i switched out on were DT Sure Sets, I hate those hooks they catch onto everything!