Sign in to follow this  
coots

Technique For Bbz-1?

I know there is probably endless ways to fish this bait.

I just picked me one up and have my sights on a couple others in different patterns. Anyway, I'm new to this type fishing and was just looking for some basics to help me with WHEN to fish it, and a general principle of WHERE to fish it... and the techniques you guys have had success in doing so.

Bought this one from a local tackle shop... dad ended up buying a Bull Shad at the same time I bought the BBZ-1.... head to head competitions coming up?! Looks like it! ;)

On a more serious note, I am new to it also.  WRB, and Speedbead have excellent advice on swim baits.  I'd search their topics and their thread posts by clicking on their profile.  Endless amounts of info.  If your lucky, they'll comment!  :eyebrows:

• Like 1

What style did you get? Floater, slow sink, fast sink? You want to fish them in high percentage areas were you know bass live, specifically big bass. Try different retrieves until you get bit. That's why it's important to know that there are fish present. A general rule of thumb is if you think your fishing slow then fish slower. A slow steady retrieve is probably the most popular, but not always the key to landing fish.

What style did you get? Floater, slow sink, fast sink? You want to fish them in high percentage areas were you know bass live, specifically big bass. Try different retrieves until you get bit. That's why it's important to know that there are fish present. A general rule of thumb is if you think your fishing slow then fish slower. A slow steady retrieve is probably the most popular, but not always the key to landing fish.

very important to know if it's the floater, slow or fast sink.  that will help to narrow down the answers you'll get.  i have a floater, that thing swims awesome!  over grass beds and submerged cover is where i like to throw it myself.  

Sorry for the delayed response guys.