Sign in to follow this  
AllAboutThatBass

Help me pick a rod type for my next rod/arsenal

So with all the summer closeouts going on I've been debating grabbing a new rod. I'd like to stick around $100 or less and I've been eyeing the Fenwick Aetos which seems like an awesome deal. Also been eyeing the blackout but i heard those have guide problems. I'm open to other rod sugestions. Also been considering st croix, dobyns, powell, and Ethos. I plan to pair it with a Lews speed spool, ratio depends on what i use it for. I've mainly fished ponds, small lakes, and canals while in miami/southflorida for school. Just moves back home to texas so i'll be fishing lakes and deep water more. My main lures are Frogs, spooks, chatterbaits, senkos, light texas rigged worms/creatures and I'm just getting into squarebills. I'd like to get into jig fishing more. 

My current arsenal is as follows:
1) 7ft MH Berkley Lightning Shock + Lews 7.5:1 Speed spool LFS + 40lb braid
Use it for mainly Frogs and chatterbaits. Fluro leader with the chatterbaits or straight braid if im lazy. I've never caught anything on chatterbaits with straight braid though. 

2) 6'6" M/ModFast Blackmax3 combo 6.4:1 w/ 15lb mono
Currently have this spooled with 15lb mono and I've mainly used it for topwater spooks, squarebills, and texas rigged worms and senkos. I have a hate love relationship with this reel. 

3) 6'8" M/F Academy Ethos spinning + Shimano Sienna + 20lb high vis braid w/ fluoro leader
Use it for more finesse presentations: shakey head, weightless senkos and soft plastics, ned rig. 

What main techniques and setups for those techniques am i missing?
I'm considering a new setup for
1) Jigs and heavier texas rigs. I'd like to start skipping docks and pitching/punch cover more. I'm considering a MH rod with either a fast or XF action. 6'8" or 7'? (im short 5'6")