Sign in to follow this  
SissySticks

Want new boat- stuck!!

I'm graduating from graduate school this coming may, and I hope to buy myself a new boat.  I'll have about $2000 to put down on it, but I want to spend less than $6000, preferably less than 5000.  I'm debating between 2 different types of boats, and I'm looking for some input.  

I live in NE Kansas, and fish everything from 30 acre ponds to Milford Reservoir, which is 16,500 acres.  Currently I fish out of a converted 16' semi-v.  It works okay but was never more than a holdover boat.

I mostly bass fish, as in, about 80% of the time.  However, I also occasionally fish for wipers, crappie, and walleye.  I am a recreation only fisherman, no tournaments anymore, but do fish about 50-60 times/year.  I am also a high-school english teacher, so needless to say, economy is important to me.  I want something I can pull with my 4-banger tacoma and power with a 50hp or less 4-stroke. It needs to be comfortable for 2 fisherman and a child, or 3 adults in a pinch. I also go to Canada (LOTW), SD, MN or ND 2-3 times per year to pike/muskie fish.

I am considering 2 types of layouts: a 16-17' tiller v-hull like an alumacraft lunker, sylvan backtroller, tracker guide special etc., or a 17' aluminum bass boat like a Skeeter sx17, G3 175, Ranger 117 Cherokee, Xpress sv17, etc.  Either way I want a 40-50hp 4 stroke outboard.  Both types can be pulled with my truck easily.  

I go back and forth almost daily on which to get.  For most of my fishing, the bass boat, with its superior casting space and rod/dry storage seems like the best choice, but when I think about running across miles bay in a skeeter sx17 and its low sides, I kind of pucker, and then I want the v-hull.  Those of you who've fished LOTW will sympathize.  I know every boat is a compramise, I'm just trying to find the boat that will be best for me 90% of the time.  What do you guys think?