Fishing Spots and Advice - Washington DC/Northern Virginia/Maryland

FLV

Hello,

I am relatively new at fishing in the DMV area and currently live in DC central. I dont have much experience of Bass fishing, I used to fish in Europe when i was younger, mostly panfish and carps. I am happy to fish anything that can bite... it is always a good time ! I dont mind catfish or carp fishing, but those are not my current target - I would prefer aiming for game fish (any type) or panfish.

I have tried several spots close to DC as I dont have a car and do not have a plan to have one, but who needs a car when Uber/Lyft can get you almost anywhere in the DMV area :) 

Here are the spots I have tried and unfortunately due to a mix of lack of knowledge, skills and luck...I have not been very successful..

Tidal basin: Seen many fishes and heard a lot about this place as a good fishing spot  - Used crankbaits, soft plastics 
Haines Point/opposite of the Titanic Memorial: fished a clam and a snail ..... tried with rooster tails, grubs on 2 jig heads, fishfinder rig with nightcrawler
Gravelly Point, on the right side of the boat ramp: tried with Crankbaits, soft plastics - did not see anything expect someone catching some close to the wall leading to the Roach Run/Sanctuary
Columbia Island marina: on the right side of the paddle/canoe ramp Crankbaits, soft plastics - did not see anything

Columbia Island marina: Under and near the bridge going into the Pentagon lagoon - did not see anything
Dyke Marsh: the back of the marina, between the land and the marina - seen a lot of what seemed to be carps going to the surface

Here are my questions in case any kind soul is happy to take few minutes to help a fellow fisherman to have a better time :

1. From what I read - I believe those spots have fish. Are those spot fine and I should keep trying in those areas ? any particular bait/lures ?