Sign in to follow this  
eyedabassman

H, tip Or MH, tip?????

I am new to this frogin thing and I want to get a rod for just frog fishing.I had a guy tell me to go to a 7' 10" MH rod. He said that a H or XH tip would just pull the frog away too fast. But I thought that you should get a broom handle kind of a rod to pull them out of all the slop and weeds( I know to use a braided line).

Also should I be using a H tip or MH tip for flippin and pitchin jigs?

the rods come in weights ,,,, med ,,, med-hev ,,, heavy ...

the tips come in actions .... mod ,,, fast ,,, extra fast ....

as for the rod ,,, you can purchase a frog rod ..... these rods where designed for frog fishin .... be care full tho they differ from company to company .... :o

OK, I will reword my question= for a froggin rod would I be better off with H or a MH rod with a fast tip or X fast tip?

Same question for a flippin and pitchin rod for jigs?

i would say ,,, get a 7 ft heavy fast action rod ....thats what i use for froggs i dont think youd have trouble jig fishing eigther ..... you live in the mill ??? im just out side of green bay ,, small world ...  ;D

Hay Bat, Ya I live in Mil., too bad about the Packers ! But now we have bass fishing to look forward to. And thanks for the info. What frogs do you like?

Yeah, I second that.  Fast tip, H.  I usually use my 7' MH for froggin', but I use a 7'3" H for my pitchin' rod.  Since your froggin' rod is gonna double as your pitchin' rod, the 7' H will be a good choice.  Unless your patient on your hookset with the frog, the XF action rod may hurt you on your hookup.

Yeah, I second that. Fast tip, H. I usually use my 7' MH for froggin', but I use a 7'3" H for my pitchin' rod. Since your froggin' rod is gonna double as your pitchin' rod, the 7' H will be a good choice. Unless your patient on your hookset with the frog, the XF action rod may hurt you on your hookup.