Sign in to follow this  
Parcall

Reels for Flipping/Pitching

As I said the other day, I am new to bass fishing. I have been reading the forum for advice on a new reel in the $150 - $200 range for use on a Powell flipping rod that I just purchased. The most frequently mentioned reels on the forum for pitching/flipping are the Curado, the Revo STX, and the Energy PT. Is there a problem with the reels like the "Castaic" and others that are designed for this purpose? What am I missing?

Thanks for the assistance

I have used Castaics and I really like them. I don't have any now because I am always selling and trying out new stuff.

Before I bought my Castaic I posted a question on here and some people complained that they would accidently hit the instagage when they were casting (conventionally not flipping or pictching) After owning one I don't see how someone could get their hand that high on the reel, even when I was flipping and pitching I had plenty of room.

Typical Shimano quality with a reliable braking system.

I really liked it for frog fishing, with a conventional reel I will sometimes drag the frog a little bit when I turn the handle to engage the reel. With the instagage that wasn't a problem.

I hope Shimano updates it someday since it is looking pretty dated.

I'll end up with another one by the end of the summer.

The "Castaic" has a very neat flipping switch but the problem is that most people don't like. Ten to fifteen years ago tons of baitcasting reels had small flipping switches on them and today not many good reels have them. In fact, I can't think of any reels in your price range that have the old style flipping switch. I think that most people just never used it.