Sign in to follow this  
petervd

Advice on first baitcaster?

I'm relatively new to freshwater (mostly fish bass) and I am in love. I am in need of a baitcaster, I have only used some cheap spinnng reels.

I don't want to spend too much, $200 or less. That way I can learn on this reel and use it for a 6 months to a year and then I will have a good idea of what top level reel I want. I am also going to be experimenting with all kinds of baits and lures to see what I like.

Right now I am looking at either the Revo premier (not the 2010) or the Daiwa 153HSTA supertuned. How do these compare against each other?

Other reel options are welcomed!

I also have already bought my rod. A Powell Max 683cef.

Thanks!

for a first baitcaster id look at Abu 4600 C4's. they wont break the bank and will do most everything the high dollar LP reels will do.

If you haven't already, I would run a search for certain reels you may be looking at. You will find a lot on this site as well as others.

If I had to pick a first baitcaster for <$200 all over again it would be a Shimano Chronarch 50/51. They are getting harder to find, but some can be found brand new on the net for $180-$200. Some prefer magnetic breaking, but I prefer the centrifugal breaking. It was much easier for me, as a beginner myself, to get used to with the least amount of overrun.This topic has always been up for debate. Some new reels offer dual breaking w/ both systems.

Here are some reels that I would recommend trying out:

Revo S

Shimano Citica

Revo STX (I hated the SX, but the new one does have dual breaking)

Shimano Curado

Shimano Chronarch Mg50

Daiwa Sol