Sign in to follow this  
jettech

Spinning set up vs Baitcast set up.

Hey y'all.. I hope your weekend is going well. As a newbie I am finding my self deficient in Rods and reels. ;) I' m trying to figure out my next purchase. I have at present a Zebco Omega on a 5'5" M rod. A BPS bait caster Rick Clum combo 6'6" MH. And a spinning rig Shimano/bionic blade rod. 6' lite setup.

Im torn between a 6' M spinning rig and a 7' MH baitcast setup.

I like the way my spinning real throws with the exception of having to use two hands to stop a too-long cast(and believe me at this stage of the game there are lots and lots of those.)

I believe I will need this smaller rig sooner than the other as the fish will be moving shallow soon and I plan on using lighter tackle in the shallows.

I like the bait casters being able to stop a wayward throw with the thumb but they are a little more maintenance intensive for me. (read wasp nest style tangles..lol) But a worming rod will sit unused for a couple of months I think.

What do you guys think I should do? ;)

Hello jettech. I will give you my opinion for what it's worth. Ultimately you will have decide what works best for you.

Your spincast and spinning setups should take care of your light tackle needs just fine. Your baitcast setup should take care of your heavier stuff. What I think is needed is a 6' or 6'6" (my choice) medium power fast action spinning combo. With this you can fish a variety of baits, including weightless plastics, shakeyheads, light weighted plastics, small crankbaits, the list goes on... Good luck, and enjoy the process. 8-)