Sign in to follow this  
jannaqq

Appreciate any help choosing a baitcasting reel as a gift, clicker and flipper required

I'm very new to the world of baitcasting reels...and quite overwhelmed at the selection available. My father and brother fish quite a bit, including an annual trip to some big lakes in Canada for lake trout, northern pike, etc. I'd like to get my father a reel as a gift. I'm trying to find one that is smaller in size (as for bass) with both a drag clicker and a flipper. My research suggests the Quantum Accurist AC500CX is probably a pretty good fit. Are there any other baitcasting reels that I should be considering that are comparable to or better than the Accurist?

Not to sure what a flipper is, but the Accurist is a pretty good reel.

However, there are a lot of better reels.

If the Accurist has the price you are looking for, I would also check out others such as

- BPS Pro Qualifier

- Quantum Catalyst

- Revo S

What will your dad be using the reel for (cranks, jigs, topwater, etc.)?

This should be a large part of your decision on which reel to buy.

OHIO, thank you for sharing your insights and suggestions.

My understanding of the flipping switch is to make it possible or easier to pull out a predetermined length of line to make it to a target, swing the bait like a pendulum to the target, and have the reel engage immediately...in case the fish were to strike as soon as the bait hit the water.

Good point about the types of lures he will use...I will have to raid his tackle box when he isn't looking and find out.

As far as I know, most Daiwa reels can be engaged by manually moving the thumb bar which works like a flipping switch.  I've never used this feature or a flipping switch but I also have heard good things about shimanos instage system.

You aren't going to find a low profile reel with a clicker.  Flipping switch, yes there are several out there.

Shimano makes one with their version of a flipping switch in their Castaic reel.