Sign in to follow this  
Guest the_muddy_man

doin better shore fishin than the boat lately

Guest the_muddy_man

Hey I dont have a super boat Its a 12ft alum. Starcraft with a clunky old 30# thrust trolling motor but over the last 5 years Ive caught a good deal of ifish from that boat. Now granted ive been busy and havent fished ferom the boat a lot But for this year Im killin em in small ponds and strippin pits  The fish have been hammerin Rapalas,Bagley Small Fry Bream and especially 6" Manns Jelly worms in

motoroil and black. I have 4 fish this year over 3 lbs and I didnt get that many all the last 2 years. Ive been fishuing these spots for a couple of years I guess Im finally figurin them out.

strippin pits!  everybody used to bust my horns when i tell them about fishin them. glad somebody else  is a believer.

Guest the_muddy_man

Sorry to dissapoint you but the strippin pit is not a loccal nightclub ;D  Strippin are abandoned coal open pit mines. An ecological nightmare here in norteast PA however as the fish gods do their work Some of them filled with water and water fowl stocked them for us With bass,bream and pickerel(Eggas stuck to their feathers in the spring) they are usually very small in acerage and very deep and clear. And now that ive been at them for a while getting very productive

I belong to Sportsman club that is on one of those it's an old cement quarry near Allentown, Pa called Ranger Lake. It's deepest point is about 120' and ultra clear you can see down about 25' to 30'.

Chow

The Pa Angler

Nah...I was pretty sure it wasn't a night club ;D

Formerly from PA, I remember the slate quarries, etc., and often wondered about the fish content. Since they were largely private and considered very dangerous, I never checked them out.

Any special techniques for such deep clear water?  No structure or cover to speak of, right?

And the fish can thrive in those envormentally-troublesome things, eh?