Sign in to follow this  
John J.

Newbie Bass Information Needed

Hey everyone!

Well i am new to the forum and i am new to bass fishing. Me and my folks always fished catfish and i wanted to try some bass. Well here's the deal, i am of course a rookie at bass fishing and i am pretty embarrassed to say so  :-[ :-[ I live out in Orange County Virginia about 2 miles from Lake Orange (our local lake here in Orange County) and i was wondering...

My house is a few hundred yards from lake orange, we have a neighbor who had lake orange in his backyard (he lives on the lake), i tried to get permission to fish off his dock and point, but he was a total jerk, blah blah blah..

Anyway, further on down a road called "Lakeview Parkway" there's a nice cove. Unfortunatley the cove is only 1-2 feet deep. Is there any chance i will be able to catch any BASS in this cove? And if so during what time? I was thinking maybe during the spring when bass are spawning, but i want to be sure.

And can anyone give me any tips/hints on what to use as far as baitwise? Like i said i have no idea about bass fishing and i am a complete rookie at it. The biggest bass i ever caught was a 3 pound, 10 ounce bass at my parent's friend's pond...

I have no access to the rest of Lake Orange considering i only have my learner's permit which i've held for about a year....

Any help or information will be greatly appreciated! This cove does look good, it has everything bass need, cover, shade, plenty of vegetation, but it is just too shallow...

I will get into creating a path where our neighbors (other neighbors) gave us permission to fish off their land by the cove, and it extends to the point where the cove meets the body of the lake. I just need to clear that path through the woods (yeah the cove is covered by woods on both sides)

I normally fish from the shore on the cove, since it is the only place i can successfully fish...

thanks for any help!  8-)