Sign in to follow this  
spotaholic

Night Fishing Questions

I am not new to bass fishing but I am new to night fishing. My questions are directed to those that Bass fish at night. I am looking for some info on how to choose locations that are best for night time fishing and the lure choices you make for those location. Please do not take this wrong but I am not looking for the answers that someone read out of Bass magazines but solid info from people that do this. I fished last night and found some fish (5 fish@ 11.5 lbs) but from what I understand night fishing has the potential to be some of the most productive for large bass . I caught fish on a C Rig and a Spinnerbait but wonder if there is some other ways that I am missing, Best Lure selection and colors would be great. I went out with the basics black zoom u tale and a black and red spinnerbait. Thanks in advance.

There is lots of info if you use search option, quite a few posts have covered this.  as for me, in short

I fish flats and especially the deep edges at night.  I use the same techniques, lures and tactics as I do during the day.  I cover those flats first and then will go in search of if they aren't there.  Rock piles, points,etc.

For me, night is not all about black lures and topwater bites.

I fish the night as I would the day.

It's much different for me than it is for LBH.  I fish 7 or 8 golf course ponds every night from about 8-9:30.  I have found in these small ponds that the fish are feeding almost at the bank.  Super, super shallow.  I have had no luck with soft plastics, but very good numbers and size (for me) with topwater and spinnerbaits.  It's almost like a rerun.  Same results every night with the same lures.

post-5390-130163005077_thumb.jpg