bass fishing

fishing

fishing

fish for bass

fishing tips

fish

Photo

Help- I need Flipping Rod advice!!

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic

#1 arul

arul

I Love Bass Fishing!

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 170 posts

Posted April 24 2009 - 08:41 AM

So, I am needing a more heavy action rod for flipping hydrilla.  I am just learning this technique, and haven't had a "flipping stick" before...  I am probably going to be using 1 oz to 1 1/2 oz weight.  I see that Bass Pro has its extreme combo on sale, and I am happy with that combe at $109.

My question is, what kind of rod should I get for flipping?  What Length?  What action type?  Is heavy good enough, or should I get an xtra heavy?  What kind of handle?  Here is the link to the rods: lemme know which one you would choose- thanks!

http://www.basspro.c...tems#itemDetail

#2 .RM.

.RM.

Catching Big Spots With Custom Rods - Tuned Reels!

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,841 posts

Posted April 24 2009 - 11:55 AM

If your limited on storage space for the rod while traveling or boating then I would recommend a Telescopic (breaks down into itself) rods. Don't know much about your linked choices, but I don't like the power hump on grips...
My thoughts...
If storage isn't a problem then I would recommend a 1pc. rod.
a dedicated flippin rod in the following:
7'6" to 7' 10" length with a Med Heavy to Heavy power, and, Mod Fast tip action, and Alconite guides/tip (for the braid)...

Just my .02¢

Good Luck & Tight Lines!!!!

A poorly maintained reel can cost you fish, just like a dull hook, frayed lines, and a poor technique can..-
"Accuracy is much more important than distance"

#3 Ehubb5951

Ehubb5951

I Love Bass Fishing!

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 53 posts

Posted April 24 2009 - 12:49 PM