Sign in to follow this  
BASSclary

Fuego Feels Under-Powered, Cleaning Issue?

Well first off let me say, I have never used my Fuego before for any moving style baits, mainly jigs and bigger t-rigs.

But I decided to use it for some spinnerbaits because I didn't want to use my other rods for it, but man it felt really underpowered. I'm starting to think it may have something to do with how I cleaned it, I did like I do to every reel I have, strip, clean, and relube.

It's smoooth as all heck, but even with a regular spinnerbait (1/4 oz, 1 willow, 1 tiny colorado) it just felt underpowered on the retrieve. I thought it was pulling drag but my drag was set fine, with a good amount of pressure to pull some out.

Or maybe its the rod and reel? Im using a 6'8" MH/XF with 17# Sufix Seige, but I dont think that is the culprit, maybe, but I dont know for sure.

Any thoughts guys? It makes me want to not use reaction baits on my favorite reel.

This might sound silly, but I had a similar experience out on the water witha a new reel. It would cast ok but felt labored on the retrieve. I finally figured out that I ( like an idiot) had missed one of the line guides when I threaded the line. lol I'd look for some kind of interference like that.

No problems in the guides, it just seems weird to me.

DVT, I do coat the teeth of the gears with Ardent Reel Butter, would that possibly be a cause?

In all seriousness, after fishing with Shimano casting reels, Daiwa's have felt "weak" to me. In fact I sold my Tierra, Advantage's and Fuego a season or two ago because they all felt underpowered when fishing moving baits. More so than Revo's too. I think it's just the way they are, and I didn't like it so away they went.