alexczarn

Rod Questions(Help Wanted For A Newbie To Bass Fishing)

Well, I am coming to visit the USA in a few months time, I was wondering, I have some rods I use here in Australia, and wondering how they would cope with bass/bream/crappie/catfish, as that'd be what I would be targeting. I'm going to the South, doing my fishing in AL/GA.

(I'd also be doing some surf fishing, but that's beside the point, as I have plenty of experience with that, and I assume it'd be very similar.)

Anyway, the baitcaster rod I have, is an Okuma Taurino 7ft 3-5kg(6-10lb for you Americans), I've used it to throw 1/4 oz to 1/2 oz spinnerbaits, no problem, but would that be too light for general LCB/spinnerbait/swimbaits fishing for bass? Would a Daiwa Aird MH 10-20LB baitcast rod be better? This'd be with a Daiwa Laguna baitcaster with 20lb braid.

Also, I have a Shimano 6ft10 2-4kg spinning rod, which I can use with either a 1000size(4lb braid) or 2500 size reel(6lb braid), for weights from 1/16th to 1/4th of an ounce, would that be too light a rod, for say, grubbing/minnow lures/crankbaits? It would suit crappie/panfish well though, wouldn't it?

Or would a 2-5kg/3-6kg spinning rod be better with 10lb braid?

(Would any of these rods suit catfish fishing?) Otherwise I can always use my surf outfit for catfish, Shimano Sedona 4000 with 30lb braid on a Shimano Dynamix 9ft 5-10KG rod...

As I'm flying from Australia, with my fishing gear, I'd be able to only take, max 3 rods.

Looking for your thoughts guys, very open for advice, suggestions, thanks a whole lot! (As you can see, I solely use braid.)

Rods: 6'10 to 7-foot medium heavy with fast action tip.

Spinning Reels: 2500 Maximumin size.

Hooks: 2/0.

Line: 8 to 10 pound flourocarbon or copolymar.

Catfish: Bring your heavy rods and reels.

Hooks: Circle or Octopuss Hooks.

Line: 25 pound flouro.

Other Things: Needle Nose Pliers. Sissors.

Have fun.

For enthusiasts, technique specific gear is fun