Sign in to follow this  
bigbill

Buzz Baits??

I know they work but I never caught anything with them yet. I do try everything I never caught any fish yet with them. I'm thinking I need to set them up like my spinnerbaits with a trailer?

I have every size and different blades known to man. I have double and tripple blade props up to single blades to quad blades.

What am I doing wrong? Presentation? Speed? Pause? Slow?

I try it at first light to dusk to dawn. (Twilight)

My problem is I forget about it and go back to what works. I would like to add as many patterns and different presentations to my arsenal of baits.

I'm not a pro or mister perfect but I did learn most patterns by sticking with them to learn the different presentations.

Any thoughts on buzzbaits?

My hottest spinner bait skirt colors are blue glimmer and hot chartreuse. Would it be better if I used these colors on the buzzers too?

• Like 1

Unless the fish are extremely aggressive I've found that a slower roll will catch more fish.  Now I've still caught bass burning the buzzbait across the top, but this year I've slowed it down and almost fished it like a spinnerbait with it just barely breaking the top of the water.

I'm using them brand new right out of the package. I just watched Gene from bass resource and he says to break them in and set them up so they squeak.

I probably have around 30 different buzzbaits and about 100 different spinnerbaits both in assorted sizes and colors.

I figured it could be the presentation I'm using, but it could be my setup too.

Ok once I make it squeak do I add a trailer (grub)? And a trailer hook too?

Sorry for the dumb questions but I like to cover it all so everyone can understand how to fish buzzbaits too.