Sign in to follow this  
HookSetDon

Losing Odd Fish On Ewg Jig

I've been pouring my own jigs for sometime now using a nice stout 4/0 ewg hook. The hook is tough as nails,and very sharp. Problem is sometimes when setting the hook I'll feel the fish-they'll be on for a second then they'll get off... I'm using a heavy action glx with 50 lb braid. A friend said sometimes they get off, I just wondered if i could do something to improve my ratio.

Straight shank round bend hook ;)

• Like 1

I have helped a friend of mine do better using a poison tail jig with the EWG style hook, he was having the same problem but I found something that works. I noticed a long time ago when I would use the EWG style worm hooks on senko type worms I was hooking 80% on the fish I caught in the corner of the mouth and it was doing the same thing with the jig only the fish were spitting it a lot more than usual. I'm not a physics professor or anything like that so I'm not sure why this happens but for some reason jigs that use the EWG style hook get a reputation for losing fish yet some anglers will only use a jig with that style hook. I've come to find out that it depends on how you set the hook that makes the difference, everyone I fished with that likes the jigs tend to use a sideways sweeping hook set basically pulling up on a 45 degree angle. The anglers who hated it seemed to  be using a straight vertical hook set pulling up on the rod at a 90 degree angle, and I think the reason it that vertical hook set misses more fish with the EWG style hooks has to do with the way the hook comes out when it is set. I've seen it on the worm hooks too but for some reason when a bass grabs a bait with that style hook it almost always turns to one side, even the jigs do this, I substituted round bend hooks in place of EWG hooks and found guys having trouble with the EWG have a dramatic improvement with the round bend in the same exact jig, the anglers who faired well with the EWG hook didn't notice a