Sign in to follow this  
trickwormmaster

Need Suggestions For A Rod

I'm looking to get a new combo and really have my heart set on the daiwa tatula but might wait a little while and hope it goes on sale somewhere for $100. I'm looking for a rod to go with it, and I'm thinking a 6'6"-7" MH rod for frogs, heavy jigs, etc. so far I've seen the carbonlite on sale for $75 (with a rod trade in) during the BPS spring fishing classic. other than that I'm really looking for suggestions on a quality rod thats around or below $100.

I have zero experience with any Powell rod, but TW has a Diesel 7'6" MH XF on sale for $59.88.  A bit longer than you were thinking, but within your price range.  The Diesel 7'2" MH XF may be more to your liking, but it is $20.11 more, and has a narrower lure range.  I'd also look at the Daiwa Procyon line-up.  After talking with a friend, I bought a spinning model for a brother-in-law. who strictly fishes for bass.  The Veritas is on sale at a couple Online stores.  I found a 7' MH for $10 less than their sale price on fleabay, but didn't pay attention to possible shipping costs from either place.  Could have bought the Procyon cheaper on fleabay, but shipping made it more expensive than buying from TW.

I don't know what size frogs you will be throwing, but if those "heavy jigs" are very heavy, you might want to consider going to a Heavy rod.

EDIT:  Welcome to the forum.

Talk to Ron at Valley Sports, he can probably get you pretty close to your budget on a Tatula combo.