Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
gulfcaptain

Bass Team Not Dq'd For Umbrella Rig

Recommended Posts

Just found an article that the 2 anglers that were DQ'd in the BASS Team event were not DQ'd for using an Umbrella Rig.  They were DQ'd for discrepencies in a polygrah test.  Here is a copy of the article.

 

UPDATEAccording to sources close to the situation the team was not disqualified for throwing an umbrella rig. There is and was no evidence of that. They were disqualified for failing one question on the polygraph according to the person administering the test, and there are some discrepancies between the parties on how the polygraph was handled.

It was ruled they failed the question on the polygraph pertaining to Rule C7 and were subsequently DQed from the event. However no one reported them throwing any sort of violating rig or lure in practice or the tournament, and there were boats as close as 10 feet of them during the entire tournament. They were reported to be fishing straight down vertically on the bottom slow. So the speculation about an umbrella rig has been verified to be false.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ok so what is rule C7? Lol

Rule C7, which covers tackle and equipment.

The rule states, “Any umbrella-type rigging, harness, or other device designed to hold more than one lure at a time — with or without hooks — is not allowed. Such rigging, harness, or device cannot be added to a single lure as described above. Traditional twin arm spinnerbaits or buzzbaits are allowed. Trailer hooks and plastic trailers must be on the main hook of the bait; only spinner blades can be affixed to the arms. The head on the main stem may be hinged. On these spinnerbaits or buzzbaits, no more than two wires, with a maximum length of 6 inches, may extend off the main arm or body of the lure. The ‘head and hook’ portion of the lure must trail behind the blade or blades. B.A.S.S. officials have the sole authority to determine whether a lure is considered a single lure as defined above.”

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So when are they withdrawing the DQ and throwing out the Poly? I'd say they open themselves to litigation just by employing one and enforcing it's readings as FACT when they are known to give false positives regularly- on top of the men in question having been cleared from all wrongdoing.

Something smells fishy.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So when are they withdrawing the DQ and throwing out the Poly? I'd say they open themselves to litigation just by employing one and enforcing it's readings as FACT when they are known to give false positives regularly- on top of the men in question having been cleared from all wrongdoing.

Something smells fishy.

 

I'm not sure, but I'm sure there will be more to this story

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There has been no mention of this by B.A.S.S. and they've have plenty of time to do so.  In other words, the swirl you mention above is merely Internet gossip unless officially confirmed by B.A.S.S. 

 

So unless B.A.S.S. comes out with an official statement, it's just people making up stuff on the Internet.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So when are they withdrawing the DQ and throwing out the Poly? I'd say they open themselves to litigation just by employing one and enforcing it's readings as FACT when they are known to give false positives regularly- on top of the men in question having been cleared from all wrongdoing.

Something smells fishy.

They agree to the use of a polygraph so it won't get thrown out.  Just like when you go salary at a job you agree that you are getting paid for the position not the actual amount of hours you work whether it is under 40 or over 40.  

I have yet to read about an appeal of the findings so that makes me wonder as well what is really going on here. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There has been no mention of this by B.A.S.S. and they've have plenty of time to do so.  In other words, the swirl you mention above is merely Internet gossip unless officially confirmed by B.A.S.S. 

 

So unless B.A.S.S. comes out with an official statement, it's just people making up stuff on the Internet.

Very true Glenn, but even if they weren't using an Umbrella Rig, they had the discrepency in the polygraph that led to the DQ under Rule C7.  I know that's their offical statement which can cover quite a bit of different tackle senario's.  Just saw that there was no finding of them using the umbrella rig, but whatever happened to cause the issue still led to the DQ.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just wanna know about the poly test, does this apply in every tournament event? Or, top 10? Or, if just under suspicion? I simply do not follow these tournaments much anymore, if at all..

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

All the tournaments I fish when you pay your entry fee you sign a form agreeing to complete boat inspection and poly test.

This can be done at random but for the winner for sure!

Now these are tournaments with $10-30,000 payouts.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Poly tests are usually given to the top spots and then at random across the board.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Makes you think they may have had a jig as their weight for a drop shot if they were fishing straight down.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just found an article that the 2 anglers that were DQ'd in the BASS Team event were not DQ'd for using an Umbrella Rig.  They were DQ'd for discrepencies in a polygrah test.  Here is a copy of the article.

 

UPDATEAccording to sources close to the situation the team was not disqualified for throwing an umbrella rig. There is and was no evidence of that. They were disqualified for failing one question on the polygraph according to the person administering the test, and there are some discrepancies between the parties on how the polygraph was handled.

It was ruled they failed the question on the polygraph pertaining to Rule C7 and were subsequently DQed from the event. However no one reported them throwing any sort of violating rig or lure in practice or the tournament, and there were boats as close as 10 feet of them during the entire tournament. They were reported to be fishing straight down vertically on the bottom slow. So the speculation about an umbrella rig has been verified to be false.

 

Source? Link?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Source? Link?

I put a link up, and it was taken down. Google search the topic, you'll find it.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.

  • fishing

    fishing forum

    fishing rods

    fishing reels

    fishing

    bass fish

    fish for bass
    fish

×