Sign in to follow this  
Bassnajr

Quality of baitcaster reels....

Hey all...

I'm new to using baitcasters so I am asking the experienced folks on this forum:

Would it be fair to say that higher quality reels are easier to use than their cheaper counterparts or should it even make a difference?

Also, I learned to fish and still use all my spinning gear left handed. Should using a left handed baitcaster make a difference?

I bought a "skippy" brand reel last summer and almost threw it in the water. Every other cast was a backlash. I picked up a "better" quality BPS Bill Dance LH baitcaster. I put Power Pro braid on it and WOW! No backlashes after 20-30 casts! Can't wait for Spring!!

bassnajr

I think you answered your own question.

Yes, higher quailty baitcasters are generally more user friendly than cheaper ones.

I'd say the biggest difference for me between a cheap and more expensive baitcaster was the ability to throw light baits without backlashing. I can throw small swimbaits weighless and no backlashing. The cheaper reel I had couldn't do that. Plus I get more distance.

Also, I'm a righty for everything except fishing. I throw right handed and reel lefty... just nicer not to have to switch the rod from hand to hand IMO.

I think you answered your own question.

Yes, higher quailty baitcasters are generally more user friendly than cheaper ones.

X 2  same exact thing for me. Went to a Citica and many less backlashes.

yes the quality of the baitcaster matures, i use to use a cheap reel thinking it didnt make a diffrence but once i bought my diawa megaforce i cant use the cheap ones EVER AGAIN. of corse now i have 6 expensive rods and reels

Ditto to what The Jake said:o)

The old cliche: "you get what you pay for" is applicable to fishing reels too:o)