Sign in to follow this  
Noboat

Knot Problems

I have lost about 4-5 fish this year when my knot breaks or just simply pulls loose.  I have been tying the "Trilene Knot" for 25 years and have never had issues until now.  I know there is a ton of different knots out there, but what are the betterones to use as far as strength, ease of tying, and longevity?

I will add that some of the lost fish came after catching a few and therefore causing some stress on the knot.  However, this has not been an issue in the past.  Also, I am mainly having this problem with mono (Stren if that matters).

Palomar or Improved Clinch are the ones that work best...

Do a search for "knots" on the forum, and you will find a wealth of knowledge.

P-A-L-O-M-A-R

I use the palomar knot for everything except for spinner/buzz baits where I use a uni knot just because it is easier to tie.  I never have issues with the palomar knot.  Last night I got hung up on a stump with #14 silver thread and I could not get the line to break - just an example of how strong the palomar knot is.

Hey Noboat,

The Palamor Knot is one of the best knots you can use when rigging anytype of a bass rig.

I even use a Palamor Knot when tying a swivel to my Carolina rig or when I am fishing a swimming worm.

The secret to a Palamor Knot is to PULL THE LINE END TIGHT AND THEN PULL THE TAG LINE TIGHT.

By doing this you will not burn the line end of the line and only the tag end of the line will be burned.

I use a Palamor knot on all baits, including spinnerbaits, buzzbaits and crankbaits.  I mean every bait I use and all hook setups.

When using braid, I use a Palamor Knot and I put a drop of glue on it if I am concerned it will slip.

A Palamor Knot is easy to learn and it will not fail you.

Please check the Reel Mechanic's web site for knots or the web for instructions on how to tie a Palamor Knot.

If you can tie an overhand knot then you can tie a Palamor Knot.  ;)