Sign in to follow this  
jax

New to fishing and overwhelmed

Bear with me as I am new to fishing. I have been reading quite a bit over the last couple of weeks about rods and reels. The more I learn the more I am lost on where to begin. There are just too many options. I do not own any fishing gear at this point. I don't want a piece of crap but I am on a budget of about $60 for a rod and reel at this point. I'm sorry if this is the wrong forum as this seems like an advanced forum. I can not find a newbie forum.

I live in Southern Indiana. I do know that I am more than likely not ready for a baitcaster. I will mainly be fishing from the bank. Since I know very little about fishing I am trying to find more of a multi purpose rod than anything. Just to state the obvious I will not be getting into bass tournaments anytime soon. I just want to learn to fish. I realize that gear is just as much preference as technique driven but I have no preference or technique at this point. Yes I realize this makes it astronamically hard to figure out what I need.

Dicks sporting goods has this on sale for $50 dickssportinggoods.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3027553#1

Is this one of their overpriced sales or is it worth considering. I know every brand has quality and then they have crap quality. I know next to nothing about fishing gear. Reviews are rare and hard to find.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Or if someone could at least help point me in the right direction I would be greatful. The guys at Dicks aren't very helpful unless you get into their top of the line gear.

Thanks,

Check your Dick's to see if they have a Shimano Sedona/ Shimano Convergence Combo. It should be on sale for $45. If they have it, get the Sedona 2500 on a 6'6" Medium power Convergence rod. Retail value is $90, $50 for the reel, $40 for the rod. It's a great deal.