Sign in to follow this  
bmadd

Affordable Arsenal

Let me start off by saying that I am a college student trying to build an affordable arsenal of rods for tournament fishing. I have been fishing in the collegiate tournament series and plan to jump into BFL's and possibly ABA's for the 09 season. I am looking for some feedback on some lines of rods. I would like to try and build this arsenal out of one line to make changing rods fluid. Reels will consist of E series Curado's and Citica's. The series are

1) Shimano Crucial

2) St. Croix Avid

3) Powell Max

The only rod I have any experience with so far are the Avids. I have one of the old models and am satisfied though not amazed by these rods.

I like the price point and the warranty with the Crucial line up. The warranty is a big plus seeing as how I tend to be a little rough on my equipment during tournaments.

The Powell line is also very attractive, especially at their newer price point. However, I do not like how the majority of their rods are all XF in action.

Give me your thoughts on these rods and also suggest others.

Thanks,

Braden

The St. Croix Avid series are great rods at their pricing point.

Virtually every combination of length, power and action is

available in this line-up. For the money, I consider the Avids

to be the "Best Value".

8-)

I have no experience with Powell but Cricials and Avids in my book at both good rods. The one thing I noticed is the Power on the Avids are more true to what you would expect. It really is noticeable with treble hooks. If you plan on doing a lot of cranking I would learn towards the Avid for that IMHO. Hope this helps and good luck at the tournaments and especially in school.

i guess i'll be the first to say powell, not ALL are XF, and from a sensitivity point they rival top of the Loomis IMO.