Sign in to follow this  
flippin4it.

Powell rod owners???

I have had problems with my right elbow/forearm for years now. Because I am a mechanic, I can't seem to follow doctors orders so........I need rods that are not tip heavy and perform as good or better than expected. So far only Kistler LTA's and Carrot Stix fit the bill, but like most of us with a "monkey" thats just not enough. So I am looking at the 703C, which seems like a great all around rod. Any input on Powells would be great.

I own the 704 CB and compared to my cheaper rods, it has an extremely light tip.  I have it paired with a curado 100d so the whole combo weighs around 10 oz i think.  I throws the lightest of lure's and is one of my favorite rods (Besides my loomis Swim bait rod)

They are a bit tip heavy, especially the 7'0 and 7'3 casting models. I have a 702ml, 704C, and a 734C. Good rods for the money, in fact at the the new price point (130-170) they are the best in that range imo. You might consider looking into one of the 6'8" if you want to lean away from a tip heavy rod, or a 7' IMX or GLX.

i'm really not sure what you meant by the heavy tip? i have the powell 703CEF and the 703CB find them extremely light and well-balanced...love them!

I love Powell rods. My 765 is tip heavy without a reel, but balances nice with a Revo SX. I have a carrot stix rod also, but I like my Powells tons more. Especially now that the Powells are in the same price range as the Carrots. Go to your local tackle shop and see if they have any powells you can try out. Be sure to bring the reel you are using to see how it balances. If not, check out Dobyns rods, I know they come balanced from the factory.

You could always have something made to balance for your hold with your reel.

Balance is checked and measured with a scale, not a hand.

i'm really not sure what you meant by the heavy tip? i have the powell 703CEF and the 703CB find them extremely light and well-balanced...love them!