Sign in to follow this  
TrippyJai

7:1 reel gear ratio

I'm looking at a Curado E7 for christmas. Can I use this gear ratio for everything except cranks?

I know it excels in flipping and pitching when you want to get the fish out of the cover as quick as possible, but how about using it for worms, spinnerbaits, buzzbaits, etc. Is it too fast for worms? too fast in general?

Without sounding facetious, it all depends upon how fast you crank it.

If you cast shallow cranks to shoreline structure, a 7.X:1 reel would be a great option; they can get your fish outta trouble spots in a hurry.  Personally, any other crankin' presentation besides shallow divers, with a super high speed reel, and I end up over-winding my bait.

I guess with the right encouragement, anythings possible. :)  I haven't fished with any Shimanos, but by spring I want to have the E5.  I have been riding the fence on the curados for a couple of years and now with the new models, am ready to give em a whirl.  I'm an AbuGarcia guy, but from what I've wittnessed and read on the forums here, they sound like a solid deal.  

BTW, In your avatar you are either happy with the world or telling fish stories.  Which one? ;D ;D

It's a lot easier to slow down a fast reel than it is to speed up a slow one.

I guess with the right encouragement, anythings possible. :) I haven't fished with any Shimanos, but by spring I want to have the E5. I have been riding the fence on the curados for a couple of years and now with the new models, am ready to give em a whirl. I'm an AbuGarcia guy, but from what I've wittnessed and read on the forums here, they sound like a solid deal.

BTW, In your avatar you are either happy with the world or telling fish stories. Which one? ;D ;D

Happy with the world? No.

Being at a beautiful place? ... Indeedie!!! =)

Gone_Phishin

thanks for all the useful tips.